I Love Writing But…

writing,creative,family

Photo of unknownjim and family in Franklin, TN by Kevin Harvey

I love writing.

I love how you start with a blank page, and then slowly the words form sentences, and then those sentences form thoughts.

I love the creative process.

I love it when I finish a project.

I love it when something I wrote inspires or motivates others.

But I’d rather be a good dad and good husband than a good writer.

It is vitally important to spend quality time wondering around a field or watching Curious George tv episodes together.

Focus on what is REALLY important.

About jimwoodswrites
I write books, help other writers create great content, and challenge you to crush the status quo as a coach.

4 Responses to I Love Writing But…

  1. Joe Bunting says:

    Nice, Jim. Way to put priorities straight.

    • unknownjim says:

      Thanks. I have to remind myself this when I’m in the middle of a Curious George marathon with a cranky munchkin or when watching a “romantic comedy” with my wife 😉

  2. Lizzie says:

    I struggle with this daily, often allowing my ambitions to get the best of me. But balance is key. I have a six-year old sister, and when I visit home, writing is the last thing on my mind 🙂

    Glad I discovered your blog!

    • unknownjim says:

      Thanks Lizzie, I couldn’t agree more. Balance is key. I also try to remember that life spurs creativity/writing, not the other way around. Thanks so much for commenting!

Leave a comment