Joe Paterno, Legacy and You

Photo by Dishwab (Creative Commons)

Joe Paterno.

At this moment, not many other names bring up such an emotional, raw response.

As a parent, part of me wants to say terrible things about Paterno.

I want to say that he enabled Jerry Sandusky to abuse kids, to harm the innocent.

Joe Paterno was larger than life at Penn State, and he did nothing to remedy the situation.

A huge part of me wants to say all accomplishments on the football field do not matter.

For most of us, football is not what we live for;  football is a fun distraction on weekends or a fun past time.

But Joe Paterno lived for football.  He died only 2 months after being fired.

Is this his legacy?

A coach who won lots of games and enabled a sexual predator?

I sincerely hope not.

Joe Paterno inspired and helped many kids.

He did change many lives for the better.

It is really easy to judge others.

I know I was semi-judgemental a few lines above, but please hear me out:

focus on yourself.

You can’t change things or lead others until you focus on yourself first.

About jimwoodswrites
I write books, help other writers create great content, and challenge you to crush the status quo as a coach.

6 Responses to Joe Paterno, Legacy and You

  1. birdie henson says:

    You’re right, it is so very easy to judge others and so many are quick to do so! Way to recognize this!

  2. Larry The Deuce says:

    I think a lot of us would love to hate on Paterno. I simply feel sorry for him and his legacy. Like most of it, it’s really a mixed bag of good and bad. Unfortunately, most people will remember the last few months and not the 42 previous years.

    • unknownjim says:

      Absolutely. I couldn’t agree more. That’s why I think it’s just much more productive to focus on yourself..and not others. I don’t think we will ever know the WHOLE story.

  3. Craig says:

    Awesome photo!

    I came to your blog from Jon Acuff’s site. He has created a tremendous forum for sharing our blogs and impacting more people with them.

    I hope my blog can be an encouragement to you also.

    I write it for encouragement and motivation daily.

    http://i-never-fail.blogspot.com

    Thanks for sharing. Looking forward to watching the connections grow!

Leave a comment